top of page

Sunrise Nature Photography

As a nature photographer, I require natural light to capture beautiful images. Most photographers you find will either be at sunrises or sunsets. That's when the light is your best friend. There are many reasons why photographers choose to capture their images at these specific times. I fell in love with sunrise and watching what I call "nature waking up". I sometimes do sunsets but 95% of the time I will be up very early in the morning to get out and capture those sunrises. Here are just a few reasons why I choose to capture my images during sunrise.


  • Golden Hour Lighting: Sunrises offer a magical period known as the "golden hour." During this time, the sun is low on the horizon, and its light has a warm, soft, and diffused quality. This lighting creates long shadows, adds depth to the scene, and enhances colors, making for stunning and visually appealing images.

sunrise long exposure at a lighthouse on the beach

  • Dramatic Sky: Sunrise often brings about captivating cloud formations and colors in the sky. This dramatic sky adds interest and mood to my photos, making them more visually striking.






  • Serenity and Peacefulness: Early mornings are generally quieter and more peaceful, especially just before and during sunrise. The absence of crowds and distractions allows me to focus on my subject and compose my shots with greater ease.

  • Unique Atmosphere: The atmosphere at sunrise is distinct. There is a sense of freshness and newness as the day begins, and this can be reflected in the photographs, creating a unique and refreshing perspective.

  • Less Harsh Light: Unlike shooting during midday when the sun is directly overhead, sunrise provides a softer and more forgiving light. This makes it easier to manage exposure and avoid harsh shadows and highlights in my images.

  • Emotion and Storytelling: Sunrise images can evoke strong emotions. The imagery of a new day dawning, with all its symbolic connotations of hope and new beginnings, can add depth to the storytelling aspect of my photos.

cloudy overcast sunrise off the coast of the pacific northwest

  • Long Exposure Opportunities: In low light conditions, such as sunrise, I can use long exposure techniques to capture stunning effects like smooth water surfaces, light trails, or starbursts from the sun itself.

  • Capturing Unseen Beauty: Morning light often reveals a side of the world that many people don't witness. By photographing at sunrise, I have the chance to capture scenes and subjects in a way that might be unfamiliar to my audience, making my photos more intriguing.



In summary, shooting photography at sunrise offers a plethora of advantages due to the quality of light, the atmosphere, and the storytelling opportunities. It's a time that can help me create captivating and emotional images. However, I have to plan ahead, as sunrise doesn't wait for anyone, and the window of beautiful light is relatively short.











bottom of page